Posted by: zhiv | November 2, 2012

Foot Off The Gas Friday: An Apology For Writing About Movies And The Film Business

Quick note right now, and I might try and get into it deeper over the weekend when I have time to settle down and reflect, but I just want to say that the zhivblog is going off the reservation for a little while, and moving down into the show business cesspool. So all of my old literary cronies, all 5 or 6 of you, feel free to ignore any and all of this latest round of gibberish. I feel especially bad because I’m diving into this while coming off an extended summer break. Those that are familiar with my approach know that I have no idea what I’m doing, no plan, that I’m just stumbling forward. A couple of days ago I was excited about writing up a couple of George Gissing posts that I found in my last notebook, left over from the spring and never typed up, I had a prompt towards continuing Gissing studies, and I’ve been looking at some Hawthorne stuff as well. And then this other bullshit cropped up. I feel bad about doing it, no less because I managed to go for so long without getting into anything resembling this kind of thing. I’ll settle down soon enough, I hope. And I’ll get those literary posts up sooner rather than later. In the meantime, my bad.

Here goes nothing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

